Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Holy Guacamole and a side of crazy chips!

Change!  No, I'm not referring to Obama's "Change" or the 5lbs of change weighing down my purse everyday....I'm talking about the changes of life, the life of changing.  We see, we know, we understand that things change, we as people change, the environment around us change, life changes.  Whether or not we acknowledge these changes and accept them or disregard them is each owns individual choice, but we can't hide from it.  As a child I easily accepted change in my life, when I was 6 my life changed from being an only child to being a big sister to my younger brother Nick, shortly there after I started school, made friends, lost friends, won games, lost games.  The changes I experienced were rather easy.  I lived in the same house my entire child and young adulthood, my group of friends didn't change much, everything gradually changed, but was never overwhelming.  It was not until 2 1/2 years ago that a wave of change rolled out a new life for me.  I had become a real adult, had a real adult job, met a man who has completely changed my life into something truly amazing, got engaged, got married, and now, now we are moving.  The time has come to move away from my family and friends, to leave the small beautiful town I grew up in, and start a new life, a new family of my own, and make new friends.  This is a change that comes easily for Jason, after all he has spent his entire life moving from city to city every few years, making new friends and a new life for himself.  As for myself, I am terrified, excited, but terrified.  If it wasn't for Jason I don't know if I could handle this move so well.  He is the super glue that is holding me together for these last few weeks of our life here.  His love, confidence, and outlook on our new life keeps a positive light inside me.  But still, things will change...

I looked over my calendar this morning, counting the number of days I have left at the college (17 work days, 15 if you don't count the 2 work days I'm taking off this week, and 23 if you count the weekends), counting the number of days since we got married (297!!), counting the days until we search for a new house (2), counting the number of days till we make my first trip to Texas to see Jason's best friends (58!), and then realizing shortly after we hit our 1 year anniversary.  In 68 days we will be celebrating our 1st year of marriage.  WHAT?!?!  Holy Guacamole!!  And what's even crazier....at that point we will begin trying for a baby...which then brings up the fact that a year from now, if we do get pregnant right away I could be holding a sweet baby in my arms.  Someone pinch me please!!  I'm riding the unstoppable train of change!  I think I need a cocktail!

Monday, January 17, 2011

the uncertain year ahead!

The Holiday madness is over, and I am finding more time in the day to get things done.  We stayed here this Christmas to spend it with my parents.  After our busy schedule this past year and just getting back from our honeymoon in the middle of November I wasn't really up to jumping on a plane again for Christmas to go out west.  Plus, Anne was coming home for a few days and I wanted to be home to see her.  It was our first Christmas as a married couple, Jason's first Christmas without his family (last year was my first year without mine), and his first Christmas with REAL snow (I mean snow on the ground and not just up in the mountains in Vegas!).  I had a week and a half off from work at the college, but spent half of that time working at the shoe store, which I am no longer working at.  Yep, called it quits at the shoe store...I will miss the girls, and of course the nice discounts, but I would rather spend my weekends with my husband.  YAY for weekends off!!

And, here we are in 2011.  I don't like writing _ _-_ _- 11...it just doesn't look right to me..and I write these dates down a dozen times a day, every time looking at it and making sure I actually wrote it correctly because it just looks so strange to me to write "11".  But, it's a new year, and a time to say goodbye to 2010, SUCH A GREAT YEAR!  It is sad to say goodbye to 2010.  It was such a big year with our wedding and all, which reminds me...I felt horrible the other day.  I was signing my name on the clipboard at the rec and talking to Spencer who was sitting at the desk, attempting to talk and write at the same time, which I've now realized I no longer can do...must be the whole getting older thing...and I look down at my signature...WHOOPS!  I signed Alicia Van B (caught myself before finishing the Berlo), and of course Jason was standing right there!  I haven't signed Van Berlo in over 5 months, and the only other time I accidentally signed Van Berlo was 2 days after the wedding (so that's forgivable right...I mean I had only been Huwyler for a couple days at that point).  Yep, so for the past week my husband has been rubbing it in my face that I signed my maiden name :(  I'm sorry...it happens!  So not only do I have to remind myself to keep signing as Huwyler, but the whole 2011 thing has thrown me off too!  All these changes...they're too much!! LOL

So, today is the first day of the winter semester.  It's nice to have students back in the halls, these buildings are very lonely when classes aren't in session.  I had a few co-workers ask me if I was taking any classes this semester, which I am not signed up for any, and off course they ask why since last year I was working on my accounting degree and only took off last year because of the wedding chaos.  I basically just have to respond that I have too much going on this semester and none of the classes work with my work schedule, which is partially true, but basically I'm not signed up for any classes because of the possibility of us moving, but I'm not about to freak my co-workers out with that until we know for certain.  Why sign up for a course if there is a possibility that we may not be living here in a couple months??  I'd hate to waste a month or two of a semester of hard work, and then not be able to finish it out.  The uncertainty of not knowing where we will be at the end of this year kind of freaks me out.  I'm trying to plan a trip out to Denver to see my cousin but I can't do that until we know whether or not we will be moving to Georgia in the next month or two.  We also want to plan a trip to see the in-laws this spring but can't do that until 1.) we know when Jason will be scheduled to be out there for a meeting this spring, and 2.) again if we will be in Georgia or not.  We have 2 weddings scheduled so far this year so we have to make sure that if we do move we can come back home for those since they are both in northern mich.  Then we are planning to start trying for a baby at the end of the summer...I'm crossing my fingers that we will have a better idea of where we will be by then so that we're not in the middle of a move when I'm 7 or 8 months pregnant!  So much on my mind to think about this year...2011 is going to be interesting!